Fiction Review

Book Launch – Anne A. Wilson’s Clear to Lift

Posted on Updated on

The Poisoned Pen recently held a book launch party for Anne A. Wilson and her new book, Clear to Lift.

Clear to Lift

Anne A. Wilson was born and raised in Phoenix, Arizona. She graduated from the United States Naval Academy and served nine years active duty as a navy helicopter pilot, which included deployment to the Persian Gulf. The Naval Helicopter Association named Anne and her crew Helicopter Aircrew of the Year, an award given for search and rescue. She and her husband currently own Camelback Coaching, a triathlon coaching company. Hover was her debut novel.

The Poisoned Pen knows how to throw a book launch.

Anne Wilson food

That’s the author in the front row in orange.

Anne Wilson's audience

Anne Wilson and Shona Patel
Fellow author Shona Patel with Anne Wilson

Fellow authors, friends, readers showed up. But, here’s the person who made a special trip just to see her. Joan Burtnett was Anne’s fifth grade teacher.

Anne and teacher

We now have signed copies of Clear to Lift in the Web Store. Here’s the description.

“Navy helicopter pilot Lt. Alison Malone has been assigned to a search and rescue team based at Naval Air Station Fallon, Nevada, near the rugged peaks of the Sierra Nevada, and far from her former elite H-60 squadron. A rule follower by nature, Alison is exasperated and outraged every time she flies with her mission commander, Boomer” Marks, for whom military procedures are merely a suggestion. Alison is desperate to be transferred out of the boonies, where careers stagnate, and back to herlife and fiance in San Diego.

Alison’s defenses start to slip when she meets mountain guide Will Cavanaugh during a particularly dicey mission. Will introduces her to a wild, beautiful world of adventure that she has never known before. Stranded on a mountain during a sudden dangerous blizzard, Alison questions every truth she thought she knew about herself. When Will braves the storm to save her life, she must confront the fact that she has been living a lie. But is it too late to change course?

Full of action and adventure, dangerous and heart-stopping rescues, blizzards and floods, family secrets and second chances, Clear to Lift by Anne A. Wilson is a thrilling woman’s journey as she finds confidence, truth, love, and herself against the majestic backdrop of the Sierra Nevada.”

And, here’s where you can purchase a copy. http://bit.ly/29KQFJK

 

Photo – Drop-in Signing, John Sandford & Michele Cook

Posted on Updated on

Anne Wilson welcomed authors John Sandford and Michele Cook to The Poisoned Pen the other day for a drop-in book signing.

Anne Wilson, Michele Cook, John Sandford
Left to right – Anne Wilson, Michele Cook and John Sandford

The authors stopped in to sign Rampage, the third in their Young Adult thriller trilogy.

Rampage

Here’s the summary of that book.

“John Sandford and Michele Cook complete their New York Timesbestselling thriller series in this explosive finale. Fans of James Dashner, Harlan Coben, and Suzanne Collins will love this nail-biting trilogy.

Shay Remby and her band of renegade activists have got the corrupt Singular Corporation on the run. Their expose is finally working. Or is it?

Even as revelations about the human experimental subjects break in the news, Singular’s employees are slithering out of sight. And then their CEO is killed in a plane crash… Was it a freak accident?  Or a cover-up?

Shay’s gang begins to see signs that there may be even more powerful figures than they knew managing events—publicly expressing outrage and mopping up the mess, but secretly gathering up their scientists and moving the operation further out of sight.

It will take nothing short of a rampage to stop the Singular menace for good…”

Are you looking for a new series for the young adult in your life? We have all three books in The Singular Menace series, and they’re all signed by the authors. Start with Uncaged, and move to Outrage.

Check them out in the Web Store now. http://store.poisonedpen.com/

“Every Summer Has a Story” – Clea’s Picks

Posted on Updated on

Clea Simon replacement

Poisoned Pen Press publishes Clea Simon’s Pru Marlowe pet noir series. The series features an animal behaviorist who can hear what animals are thinking, most notably her irascible tabby Wallis.

Simon’s books in order, by original Poisoned Pen Press publication date, are: Dogs Don’t Lie (2011), Cats Can’t Shoot (2012), Parrots Prove Deadly (2013), Panthers Play for Keeps (2014), Kittens Can Kill (2015), and When Bunnies Go Bad (2016).

Clea has three suggestions for summer reading. “The Sympathizer has been coming with me to the beach. Never mind the Pulitzer, the Anthony, etc., Viet Thanh Nguyen’s first-person voice grabbed me right away with its immediacy. Besides, I think it’s important to hear from the other side of what is now our second-longest war.”

Sympathizer

Simon’s second pick is by an author who regularly appears at The Poisoned Pen. “The Murder of Mary Russell by Laurie R. King is next up. I love this series (which features an aging Sherlock Holmes and his very Holmes-ian American partner/spouse) and this latest installment has gotten wonderful reviews.” Interested in a signed copy of this one? We have them in our Web Store. bit.ly/29vDrkL

Murder of Mary Russell

Clea Simon’s final pick is another by an award-winning author. “Catriona McPherson’s The Child Garden is also on my summer TBR (To Be Read). I came to McPherson’s books through her whimsical historical cozy series, the Dandy GIlver books, but then I read her eerie, darker standalone Quiet Neighbors and I was hooked.”

Child Garden

If Clea has hooked you on any of these titles, check out the Web Store to buy them. http://store.poisonedpen.com

F. Paul Wilson at The Poisoned Pen

Posted on Updated on

Barbara Peters, owner of The Poisoned Pen Bookstore, recently welcomed F. Paul Wilson for a program and book signing. He’s on his book tour right now for Panacea.

Panacea

Here’s the description of the book, as it appears on the store’s website.

“Two secret societies vie for control of the ultimate medical miracle – Panacea – in the latest novel by New York Times bestselling author F. Paul Wilson.

Medical examiner Laura Hanning has two charred corpses and no answers. Both bear a mysterious tattoo but exhibit no known cause of death. Their only connection to one another is a string of puzzling miracle cures. Her preliminary investigation points to a cult in the possession of the fabled panacea – the substance that can cure all ills – but that’s impossible.

Laura finds herself unknowingly enmeshed in an ancient conflict between the secretive keepers of the panacea and the equally secretive and far more deadly group known only as 536, a brotherhood that fervently believes God intended for humanity to suffer, not be cured. Laura doesn’t believe in the panacea, but that doesn’t prevent the agents of 536 from trying to kill her.

A reclusive, terminally ill billionaire hires Laura to research the possibility of the panacea. The billionaire’s own body guard, Rick Hayden, a mercenary who isn’t who he pretends to be, has to keep her alive as they race to find the legendary panacea before the agents of 536 can destroy it.”

Would you like to see photos of the event?

F Paul 3
Barbara Peters and F. Paul Wilson

F. Paul 1 better

F Paul 2

F Paul signing beter
Lining up for book signing

F Paul and Barbara Panacea

F Paul and big sign

Of course, we have signed copies of Panacea for sale in the Web Store. http://bit.ly/29N4ANH Sounds intriguing, doesn’t it?

Photos – Ramsay & McCafferty

Posted on Updated on

If you missed the program featuring Frederick Ramsay and Keith McCafferty, you missed a fun time at The Poisoned Pen. For instance, McCafferty, who is the Survival and Outdoor Skills Editor of Field & Stream, brought bookstore owner Barbara Peters a gift. McCafferty writes about Sean Stranahan, a painter, fly fisherman, and private investigator, and Sheriff Martha Ettinger, in Montana. To commemorate his fifth book, he brought Peters a fly.

Fred, Barbara, Keith
Left to right – Frederick Ramsay, Barbara Peters, Keith McCafferty

Enjoy the pictures from that evening.

Fred and Keith
Frederick Ramsay and Keith McCafferty
Fred, Barbara & Keith with box
Can you tell McCafferty’s getting ready to present the gift?

Keith and Barbara

Keith and Fred
Keith McCafferty and Frederick Ramsay

If you would like signed copies of Keith McCafferty’s Buffalo Jump Blues or Frederick Ramsay’s Danger Woman, stop by the Web Store. http://store.poisonedpen.com

“Every Summer Has a Story” – J.C.’s Picks

Posted on Updated on

Poisoned Pen Press author J.C. Lane responded when I asked for suggestions for summer reading. The author of Tag, You’re Dead, recommended four books.

JC Lane

Robert Crais’ The Promise is actually called “An Elvis Cole and Joe Pike novel”. But, readers certainly have their favorite character. Lane says, “Anything that includes Joe Pike is a good summer read, because, well, he’s awesome.”

Promise

Lane suggests a title that many readers may not recognize, Marie Antoinette, Serial Killer by Katie Alender.”Paris, ghosts, unexplained murders…it has it all.”

Marie Antoinette

Have you met Bernie Rhodenbarr? You will in Lane’s next pick, Burglars Can’t Be Choosers by Lawrence Block. She picked it “Because a re-read of these is wonderful, and if you haven’t yet had the pleasure – you’re in for a treat (and I’m jealous)! Funny and fun.

Burglars

J.C. Lane’s last recommendation is Charles Todd’s A Fine Summer’s Day. She says, ‘A look back before Ian Rutledge went to war – a lovely “flashback” for Rutledge fans.”

Fine Summer's Day

A Fine Summer’s Day, a fine way to end a summer books post. You can order any of the books, including J.C. Lane’s Tag, You’re Dead, through the Web Store. http://store.poisonedpen.com/

“The Perfect Summer Read”

Posted on Updated on

Did you miss Beatriz Williams when she was here to discuss A Certain Age? Annie Philbrick of Bank Street Books calls it “The PERFECT summer read, literary and smart”.

Certain Age

If you’re looking for a murder mystery set in the Roaring Twenties, you might want to try A Certain Age. We have signed copies in the Web Store right now. http://bit.ly/29lqbi4