The Hugo Award Winners

The Hugo Awards are awards for excellence in the fields of science fiction and fantasy. The winners were announced this past weekend. Congratulations to all of the winners, but especially to N.K. Jemisin whose win for Best Novel for The Stone Sky was one of the biggest wins in Hugo Award history. She is the fifth author to have ever received three or more Hugos for Best Novel, and the only author to win that award for three consecutive years. You can find Jemisin’s books in the Web Store.

Stone Sky

You can also watch Jemisin’s acceptance speech on YouTube.


Here is the list of the Hugo Award winners for works from 2017.

Best Novel

The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit Books)

Best Novella

All Systems Red, by Martha Wells ( publishing)

Best Novelette

“The Secret Life of Bots,” by Suzanne Palmer (Clarkesworld, September 2017)

Best Short Story

“Welcome to your Authentic Indian Experienceâ„¢,” by Rebecca Roanhorse (Apex Magazine, August 2017)

Best Series

World of the Five Gods, by Lois McMaster Bujold (Harper Voyager/Spectrum Literary Agency)

Best Related Work

No Time to Spare: Thinking About What Matters, by Ursula K. Le Guin (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Best Graphic Story

Monstress, Volume 2: The Blood, written by Marjorie M. Liu, illustrated by Sana Takeda (Image Comics)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Wonder Woman, screenplay by Allan Heinberg, story by Zack Snyder & Allan Heinberg and Jason Fuchs, directed by Patty Jenkins (Warner Brothers)

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

The Good Place: “The Trolley Problem,” written by Josh Siegal and Dylan Morgan, directed by Dean Holland (NBC)

Best Editor, Short Form

Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas

Best Editor, Long Form

Sheila E. Gilbert

Best Professional Artist

Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine

Uncanny Magazine, edited by Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, and Julia Rios; podcast produced by Erika Ensign and Steven Schapansky

Best Fanzine

File 770, edited by Mike Glyer

Best Fancast

Ditch Diggers, presented by Mur Lafferty and Matt Wallace

Best Fan Writer

Sarah Gailey

Best Fan Artist

Geneva Benton

Award for Best Young Adult Book

Akata Warrior, by Nnedi Okorafor (Viking Books)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

Rebecca Roanhorse