2022 Stoker Awards Winners

The Horror Writers Association (HWA) has announced the winners for the 2022 Bram Stoker Awards. Check the list, and then check the Webstore for the titles. https://store.poisonedpen.com/

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • WINNER: The Devil Takes You Home, Gabino Iglesias (Mulholland)
  • The Fervor, Alma Katsu (Putnam)
  • Reluctant Immortals, Gwendolyn Kiste (Saga)
  • Daphne, Josh Malerman (Del Rey)
  • Sundial, Catriona Ward (Nightfire)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • WINNER: Beulah, Christi Nogle (Cemetery Gates)
  • Jackal, Erin Adams (Bantam)
  • The Hacienda, Isabel Cañas (Berkley)
  • Black Tide, KC Jones (Nightfire)
  • All the White Spaces, Ally Wilkes (Emily Bestler/Atria)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • WINNER: The Triangle, Robert P. Ottone (Raven Tale)
  • What We Harvest, Ann Fraistat (Delacorte)
  • The Weight of Blood, Tiffany D. Jackson (Katherine Tegen)
  • These Fleeting Shadows, Kate Alice Marshall (Viking)
  • Gallant, V.E. Schwab (Greenwillow)
  • Burn Down, Rise Up, Vincent Tirado (Sourcebooks Fire)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • WINNER: The Wehrwolf, Alma Katsu (Amazon Original)
  • And in Her Smile, the World, Rebecca J. Allred & Gordon B. White (Trepidatio)
  • “Through the Looking Glass and Straight into Hell”, Christa Carmen (Orphans of Bliss: Tales of Addiction Horror)
  • Below, Laurel Hightower (Ghoulish)
  • Three Days in the Pink Tower, EV Knight (Creature)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • WINNER: “Fracture”, Mercedes M. Yardley (Mother: Tales of Love and Terror)
  • “Nona Doesn’t Dance”, Aaron Dries (Cut to Care: A Collection of Little Hurts)
  • “Poppy’s Poppy”, Douglas Gwilym (Penumbrice)
  • “The Only Thing Different Will Be the Body”, J. A. W. McCarthy (A Woman Built by Man)
  • “A Song for Barnaby Jones”, Anna Taborska (Zagava)
  • “The Star”, Anna Taborska (Great British Horror 7: Major Arcane)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • WINNER: Breakable Things, Cassandra Khaw (Undertow)
  • We Are Here to Hurt Each Other, Paula D. Ashe (Nictitating)
  • Hell Hath No Sorrow Like a Woman Haunted, RJ Joseph (The Seventh Terrace)
  • Spontaneous Human Combustion, Richard Thomas (Keylight)
  • The Black Maybe, Attila Veres (Valancourt)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • WINNER: Screams from the Dark: 29 Tales of Monsters and the Monstrous, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Nightfire)
  • Human Monsters: A Horror Anthology, Sadie Hartmann & Ashley Saywers, eds. (Dark Matter Ink)
  • Mother: Tales of Love and Terror, Christi Nogle & Willow Becker, eds. (Weird Little Words)
  • Into the Forest: Tales of the Baba Yaga, Lindy Ryan, ed. (Black Spot)
  • Chromophobia: A Strangehouse Anthology of Women in Horror, Sara Tantlinger, ed. (Strangehouse)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: Writing in the Dark: The Workbook, Tim Waggoner (Guide Dog)
  • Toil and Trouble: A Women’s History of the Occult, Melanie R. Anderson & Lisa Kröger (Quirk)
  • Weird Fiction: A Genre Study, Michael Cisco (Palgrave)
  • A Haunted History of Invisible Women: True Stories of American’s Ghosts, Leanna Renee Hieber & Andrea Janes (Citadel)
  • Writing Poetry in the Dark, Stephanie M. Wytovich (Raw Dog Screaming)

Superior Achievement in Short Non-Fiction

  • WINNER: “I Don’t Read Horror (& Other Weird Tales)”, Lee Murray (Interstellar Flight 10/22)
  • “This is Not a Poem”, Cynthia Pelayo (Writing Poetry in the Dark)
  • “African American Horror Authors and Their Craft: The Evolution of Horror Fiction from African Folklore”, L. Marie Wood (Conjuring Worlds: An Afrofuturist Textbook for Middle and High School Students)
  • “The H Word: The Horror of Hair”, L. Marie Wood (Nightmare 7/22)
  • “A Clown in the Living Room: The Sinister Clown on Television”, Kevin J. Wetmore, Jr. (The Many Lives of Scary Clowns: Essays on Pennywise, Twisty, the Joker, Krusty and More)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • WINNER: Crime Scene, Cynthia Pelayo (Raw Dog Screaming)
  • Sifting the Ashes, Michael Bailey & Marge Simon (Crystal Lake)
  • Girls from the County, Donna Lynch (Raw Dog Screaming)
  • The Rat King: A Book of Dark Poetry, Sumiko Saulson (self-published)
  • The Gravity of Existence, Christina Sng (Interstellar Flight)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • WINNER: Kolchak: The Night Stalker: 50th Anniversary, James Aquilone, ed. (Moonstone)
  • Eat the Rich, Sarah Gailey, art by Pius Bak (Boom!)
  • Kraken Inferno: The Last Hunt, Alessandro Manzetti, art by Stefano Cardoselli (Independent Legions)
  • Something is Killing the Children Vol 4, James IV Tynion, art by Werther Dell’Edera (Boom!)
  • The Me You Love in the Dark, Skottie Young, art by Jorge Corona (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • WINNER (TIE): The Black Phone, Scott Derrickson & C. Robert Cargill (Blumhouse Productions, Crooked Highway, Universal Pictures)
  • WINNER (TIE): Stranger Things: “s4e1: Chapter One: The Hellfire Club”, The Duffer Brothers (21 Laps Entertainment, Monkey Massacre, Netflix, Upside Down Pictures)
  • The Pale Blue Eye, Scott Cooper (Cross Creek Pictures, Grisbi Productions, Streamline Global Group)
  • Men, Alex Garland (DNA Films)
  • Pearl, Mia Goth & Ti West (A24, Bron Creative, Little Lamb, New Zealand Film Commission)

As previously announced, Elizabeth Massie, Nuzo Onoh, and John Saul received the Lifetime Achievement Award; Undertow Publications won the Specialty Press Award; Meghan Arcuri received the Richard Laymon President’s Award; Karen Lansdale received the Silver Hammer Award; and David Jeffery received the Mentor of the Year Award.