St. Patrick’s Day with Carlene O’Connor

Posted on Updated on

St. Patrick’s Day celebrations may not be what they’ve been in the past, but that doesn’t mean you can’t attend a virtual celebration with Carlene O’Connor at The Poisoned Pen. O’Connor will discuss the seventh book in her Irish Village Mystery series, Murder in an Irish Bookshop at 1 PM PT, 4 PM ET on Wednesday, March 17. Signed copies of Murder in an Irish Bookshop, and copies of O’Connor’s other books, are available through the Web Store. https://bit.ly/2EViDDy


Carlene O’Connor. Murder in an Irish Bookshop (Kensington, $26.00 signed). In Carlene O’Connor’s seventh installment of her USA Today bestselling Irish Village Mystery series, the grand opening of a new bookstore in Kilbane becomes the closing chapter of an author’s life–and a whodunit that tests even Garda Siobhán O’Sullivan’s deductive reasoning…

“A mélange of clues from classic mysteries plus plenty of Irish charm produce an enjoyable read.”–Kirkus Reviews

Join a bestselling author and travel to County Cork in Ireland to solve a bookish mystery full of twists in a cozy whodunit perfect for fans of Sheila Connolly, Kate Carlisle, and Laura Childs!

Between training the new town garda and trying to set a wedding date with her fiancé, Macdara Flannery, Siobhán O’Sullivan is feeling a bit overwhelmed. She’s looking forward to visiting the new bookshop and curling up with an exciting novel–only to discover the shelves contain nothing but Literature with a capital L. The owner not only refuses to stock romances, mysteries, and science fiction, but won’t even let customers enter his store unless they can quote James Joyce or Sean Hennessey.

Despite the owner deliberately limiting his clientele, he’s hosting a reading and autographing event featuring up and coming Irish writers who will be taking up residency in Kilbane for a month. Among them is indie author Deirdre Walsh, who spends more time complaining about the unfairness of the publishing industry and megastar bestsellers instead of her own creative works, causing a heated debate among the writers. She seems to have a particular distaste for the novels of Nessa Lamb.

Then Deirdre’s body is found the next day in the back of the store–with pages torn from Nessa’s books stuffed in her mouth. Now, Siobhán must uncover which of Kilbane’s literary guests took Deirdre’s criticisms so personally they’d engage in foul play . . .


Carlene O’Connor comes from a long line of Irish storytellers. Her great-grandmother emigrated from Ireland to America filled with tales and the stories have been flowing ever since. Of all the places across the pond she’s wandered, she fell most in love with a walled town in County Limerick and was inspired to create the town of Kilbane, County Cork. Carlene currently divides her time between New York and the Emerald Isle.