Agatha Award Winners

On Saturday evening, the Agatha Awards were announced. Congratulations to all the winners and ¬†nominees. The Agathas are named for Agatha Christie, and they honor traditional mysteries. The attendees at Malice Domestic 30 voted in five categories for works first published in the United States in 2017. Check the Web Store if you’re looking for copies of these titles.¬†

Before the Agathas were given out, Malice Domestic honored Nancy Pickard for Lifetime Achievement. The Point Award winner was Brenda Blythan, who stars in “Vera”. Louise Penny was recognized as guest of honor.

The Agatha Awards went to:

Best Children’s/Young Adult

Sydney Mackenzie Knocks ‘Em Dead by Cindy Callaghan


Best Non-Fiction

From Holmes to Sherlock: The Story of the Men and Women Who Created an Icon by Matthias Bostrom

From Holmes to Sherlock

Best Short Story

“The Library Ghost of Tanglewood Inn” by Gigi Pandian

Best First Novel

Hollywood Homicide by Kellye Garrett

Hollywood Homicide









Best Historical Novel

In Farleigh Field by Rhys Bowen


Best Contemporary Novel

Glass Houses by Louise Penny

Glass Houses


Congratulations to all of the Agatha Award winners.