The Arthur Ellis Awards

The Arthur Ellis Awards were just announced this week.¬†Crime Writers of Canada present the Arthur Ellis Awards (named after the working name of¬†Canada’s official hangman) to recognize excellence in Canadian crime writing. Awards are presented in six categories for works in the crime genre published for the first time in the previous year by authors living in Canada, regardless of their nationality, or by Canadian writers living outside of Canada.

Derrick Murdoch Award – Christina Jennings

Best Crime NovelThe Fortunate Brother by Donna Morrissey

Best First Crime NovelStrange Things Done by Elle Wild

Strange Things Done

Best Crime NovellaRundown by Rick Blechta

Best Crime Short Story – “A Death at the Parsonage” by Susan Daly, The Whole She-Bang 3, Toronto Sisters in Crime

Best Juvenile/YA Crime BookMasterminds by Gordon Korman

Best Crime Nonfiction BookA Daughter’s Deadly Deception: The Jennifer Pan Story by Jeremy Grimaldi