Award Winners

Posted on Updated on

Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention, is also home to some of the awards in the mystery field.

The Anthony Awards are selected by the attendees at Bouchercon. Congratulations to this year’s winners.

Best Mystery Novel – The Killing Kind by Chris Holm

Best First Mystery – Past Crimes by Glen Erik Hamilton

Best Paperback Original – The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney

Best Critical or Nonfiction – Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA and More Tell Us About Crime by Val McDermid

Best Short Story – “The Little Men” by Megan Abbott

Best Anthology or Collection – Murder Under the Oaks: Bouchercon Anthology 2015 edited by Art Taylor

Best Young Adult Novel – Need by Joelle Charbonneau

Best Crime Fiction Audiobook – The Nature of the Beast by Louise Penny, narrated by Robert Bathurst


The Macavity Awards were also presented at Bouchercon. These awards are nominated and voted on by the members of Mystery Readers International. (I think you’ll recognize a few names.)

Best Mystery Novel – The Long and Faraway Gone by Lou Berney

Best First Mystery Novel – Past Crimes by Glen Erik Hamilton

Best Critical/Biographical – The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story by Martin Edwards

Best Mystery Short Story – “The Little Men” by Megan Abbott

Sue Feder Historial Mystery Award – The Masque of a Murderer by Susanna Calkins


The Private Eye Writers of America Shamus Awards were also presented.

Best Original Private Eye Paperback – Circling the Runway by J.L. Abrams

Best First Private Eye Novel – The Do-Right by Lisa Sandlin

Best Private Eye Short Story – “The Dead Client” by Parnell Hall

Best Hardcover Private Eye Novel – Brutality by Ingrid Thoft

The Eye: Lifetime Achievement Award – S.J. Rozan

Congratulations to all of the winners. And, for readers, look for the winning books in the Poisoned Pen’s Web Store.