2022 LOCUS Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 LOCUS Award winners and nominees. The Locus Science Fiction Foundation announced the winners in each category of the 2022 Locus Awards on June 25, 2022, during the virtual Locus Awards Weekend. Connie Willis emceed the awards ceremony. Check the Web Store for copies of the winning books and nominees. https://store.poisonedpen.com/


  • WINNER: A Desolation Called Peace, Arkady Martine (Tor; Tor UK)
  • The Galaxy, and the Ground Within, Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton; Harper Voyager US)
  • Leviathan Falls, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Echo Wife, Sarah Gailey (Tor; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Klara and the Sun, Kazuo Ishiguro (Knopf; Faber & Faber)
  • Noor, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)
  • We Are Satellites, Sarah Pinsker (Berkley; Ad Astra)
  • You Sexy Thing, Cat Rambo (Tor)
  • Shards of Earth, Adrian Tchaikovsky (Tor UK; Orbit US)
  • Hummingbird Salamander, Jeff VanderMeer (MCD; Fourth Estate)


  • WINNER: Jade Legacy, Fonda Lee (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Light From Uncommon Stars, Ryka Aoki (Tor)
  • The Witness for the Dead, Katherine Addison (Tor; Solaris)
  • Black Water Sister, Zen Cho (Ace; Macmillan)
  • Paladin’s Strength, T. Kingfisher (Argyll)
  • Under the Whispering Door, TJ Klune (Tor; Tor UK)
  • The Last Graduate, Naomi Novik (Del Rey; Del Rey UK)
  • Soulstar, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)
  • The Jasmine Throne, Tasha Suri (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • No Gods, No Monsters, Cadwell Turnbull (Blackstone)


  • WINNER: My Heart Is a Chainsaw, Stephen Graham Jones (Saga; Titan)
  • Revelator, Daryl Gregory (Knopf)
  • The Final Girl Support Group, Grady Hendrix (Berkley; Titan)
  • Billy Summers, Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton)
  • Later, Stephen King (Hard Case Crime)
  • Moon Lake, Joe R. Lansdale (Mulholland)
  • A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • Sorrowland, Rivers Solomon (MCD; #Merky)
  • The Death of Jane Lawrence, Caitlin Starling (St. Martin’s)
  • The Book of Accidents, Chuck Wendig (Del Rey; Del Rey UK)


  • WINNER: Victories Greater Than Death, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor Teen; Titan)
  • This Poison Heart, Kalynn Bayron (Bloomsbury; Bloomsbury USA)
  • The Infinity Courts, Akemi Dawn Bowman (Simon Pulse)
  • The Gilded Ones, Namina Forna (Delacorte; Usborne)
  • A Dark and Starless Forest, Sarah Hollowell (Clarion)
  • Redemptor, Jordan Ifueko (Amulet; Hot Key)
  • Chaos on CatNet, Naomi Kritzer (Tor Teen)
  • A Snake Falls to Earth, Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)
  • Terciel & Elinor, Garth Nix (Allen & Unwin; Tegen; Hot Key)
  • Iron Widow, Xiran Jay Zhao (Penguin Teen; Rock the Boat)


  • WINNER: A Master of Djinn, P. Djèlí Clark (Tordotcom; Orbit UK)
  • The Unbroken, C.L. Clark (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • Machinehood, S.B. Divya (Saga)
  • The All-Consuming World, Cassandra Khaw (Erewhon)
  • A Marvellous Light, Freya Marske (Tordotcom; Tor UK)
  • Winter’s Orbit, Everina Maxwell (Tor; Orbit UK)
  • She Who Became the Sun, Shelley Parker-Chan (Tor; Mantle)
  • The Chosen and the Beautiful, Nghi Vo (Tordotcom)
  • Wendy, Darling, A.C. Wise (Titan)
  • Iron Widow, Xiran Jay Zhao (Penguin Teen; Rock the Boat)