2021 Edgar Award Winners

Mystery Writers of America presented the 2021 Edgar Awards ceremony on Thursday, April 29. Like other award ceremonies in the last year, it was a virtual presentation. Congratulations to all the nominees and winners, beginning with the two Grand Masters, Jeffery Deaver and Charlaine Harris. After you’ve checked out the list, don’t forget to check the Web Store. https://store.poisonedpen.com/

Here are the 2021 Edgar Award winners.

Best Mystery NovelDjinn Patrol on the Purple Line by Deepa Anappara

Best First Novel by an American AuthorPlease See Us by Caitlin Mullen

Best Paperback Original – When No One is Watching by Alyssa Cole

Best Fact Crime – Death in Mud Lick: A Coal Country Fight Against the Drug Companies that Delivered the Opioid Epidemic by Eric Eyre

Best Critical Biographical – Phantom Lady: Hollywood Producer Joan Harrison, the Forgotten Woman Behind Hitchcock by Christina Lane

Best Short Story – “Dust, Ash, Flight” by Maaza Mengiste, in Addis Ababa Noir

Best Juvenile – Premeditated Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce

Best Young Adult – The Companion by Katie Alender

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award – “The Bike” by Collette Bancroft, in Tampa Bay Noir

Mary Higgins Clark AwardThe Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne by Elsa Hart

Sue Grafton Memorial AwardVera Kelly Is Not a Mystery by Rosalie Knecht

Raven Award – Malice Domestic

Ellery Queen Award – Reagan Arthur, who mentioned other Ellery Queen Award winners, including “rock star bookseller Barbara Peters”.