Sulari Gentill on The Traditional Mystery

Posted on Updated on

Sulari Gentill is the author of the Rowland Sinclair mysteries published by Sourcebooks/Poisoned Pen Press. The seventh one, Give the Devil His Due, was just released. The series is set in Australia in the 1930s. You can order copies of Gentill’s books through the Web Store. http://bit.ly/2N5KsYB

Sulari has written several posts and been interviewed here in the past. She lives in Australia, where she and her family and their home have been caught up in the wildfires. Her descriptions of Australia here on the blog have been loving, and just beautiful. I urge you to search her name, and go back and read those pieces.

Right now, you can read an article she wrote for CrimeReads. It’s called “Reviving the Traditional Mystery for a 21st Century Audience”, and you can find it here. http://bit.ly/30cijXr

You can read about Sulari Gentill’s own traditional mystery, Give the Devil His Due, right here.

For fans of Rhys Bowen, Kerry Greenwood and Jacqueline Winspear comes an adventure-packed romp that threads 1934 Sydney’s upper class and its seedy underworld.

Wealthy Rowland Sinclair, an artist with leftist friends and a free-wheeling lifestyle, reluctantly agrees to a charity race. He’ll drive his beloved yellow Mercedes on the Maroubra Speedway, renamed the Killer Track for the lives it has claimed. His teammates are a young Errol Flynn and the well-known driver Joan Richmond. It’s all good fun. But then people start to die…

The body of a journalist covering the race is found murdered in a House of Horrors. An English blueblood with Blackshirt affiliations dies in a Maroubra crash. Reporters stalk Rowly for dirt while bookmakers are after an edge. When someone takes a shot at him—it could be anyone. Then the police arrest one of Rowly’s housemates for murder.

Winner of the 2018 Ned Kelly Award for Best Mystery.

Other Rowland Sinclair Mysteries:
A Few Right Thinking Men
A Decline in Prophets
Miles off Course
Paving the New Road
A Murder Unmentioned
Gentlemen Formerly Dressed