2019 Edgar Award Winners

Mystery Writers of America livestreamed the Edgar Awards Ceremony on Thursday night. Here are all the 2019 winners, in the order as they were presented. Congratulations to all of the winners.

Sue Grafton Memorial Award – Shell Game by Sara Paretsky

The Simon & Schuster Mary Higgins Clark Award –The Widows of Malabar Hill by Sujata Massey

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award (short story) – “How Does He Die This Time” by Nancy Novick

Ellery Queen Award – Linda Landrigan, Editor of Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine

The Raven Award – Marilyn Stasio of The New York Times

Best Television Episode – Matthew Seiner & Donald Joh for “The One that Holds Everything”, The Romanoffs

Best Juvenile –Otherwood by Pete Hautman

Best Young Adult –Sadie by Courtney Summers

Best Critical Biographical –Classic American Crime Fiction of the 1920s by Leslie S. Klinger

Best Fact Crime –Tinderbox: The Untold Story of the Up Stairs Lounge Fire and the Rise of Gay Liberation by Robert W. Fieseler

Grand Master – Martin Cruz Smith

Best Short Story – “English 398: Fiction Workshop” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine)

Best Paperback Original – If I Die Tonight by Alison Gaylin

Best First Novel – Bearskin by James A. McLaughlin

Best Mystery Novel – Down the River Unto the Sea by Walter Mosley

Congratulations to the winners. Check the Web Store for copies of the books. https://store.poisonedpen.com

And, you can watch Walter Mosley discuss Down the River Unto the Sea on the Poisoned Pen’s YouTube channel.