2018 NM – AZ Book Awards

As always, we hope you check the Web Store before ordering any copies of the books. https://store.poisonedpen.com/


2017-NM-AZBookAwards WINNER

12th Annual NM-AZ Book Awards Winners Announced

The winners in 2018 New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards were announced this evening at a gala awards banquet held at the Tanoan Country Club in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Awards were presented in 58 categories, from poetry to history and nonfiction to children’s books.

1,089 books were entered in this year’s awards program and 236 of those entries were selected as finalists, which were announced in September 2018. Entries came from large and small publishers from all across the country. Any books by Arizona or New Mexico authors or publishers were eligible as well as books that focused on either Arizona or New Mexico. Because of that entries came from small, one book publishers as well as large national publishers like St Martin’s Press, Random House, Globe Pequot, and even Penguin Books. Many entries came from academic publishers all across the region. Entries this year were up 7%.

The entire list of winners can be DOWNLOADED HERE.

NO Valley 2-up covers

The top honors this year went to:

Best Arizona Book

Arizona’s Deadliest Gunfight
Osselaer, Heidi
Univ of OK Press

Best New Mexico Book

ABQ’s North Valley
Alexander, Francelle
Rio Grande Books

Best New Mexico Book

Farmer, W Michael
Globe Pequot


Hillerman Award for Fiction

Blood on the Cimarron
Coley, Mary

Hillerman Award for Fiction

Stealin’ from the Neighbors
Ashurst, Ed
Ed Ashurst Publishing

Steele Award for History

Into the White Sands
Varjabedian, Craig
UNM Press


Steele Award for History

Whither the Waters
Kessell, John
UNM Press

Best of Show

New Mexico Historical Chronology
Bullis, Don
Rio Grande Press

Best of Show

Paul Pletka: Imagined Wests
Scott, Amy
Univ of OK Press